October 14, 1964 Martin Luther King Wins the Nobel Peace Prize

MLK Nobel Peace Prize 1964

Dr King accepting the award in Oslo, Norway.

The NY Times covered it here.

Other Peace Prize winners on this day in history include Elie Wiesel in 1986.  He was a holocaust survivor and author of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel, “Night”.   

In 1991, the imprisoned leader of Burma’s opposition movement against their military junta, Aung San Suu Kyi, was given the award.  

You can find more information on the Nobel Prizes here.

This entry was posted in US History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s