CE: Health Care

Issue: Universal Health Care
–  “Sicko” – write a 150 word blog post about the issue of universal healthcare – a system in which all US citizens have health insurance coverage provided to them through a system funded by the US government.   Do you think the US should go to this system (the Obama position) or should the US continue with it’s current health system (the McCain position)?   

Support your argument.  
— Put this post in the same category as your “10 Issues from the NY Times” post  where you prioritized the issues and gave your opinion on each.   
—  150 words     — photo

LINKS to more info:
— Michael Moore’s “Sicko” fact page:
http://www.michaelmoore.com/sicko/checkup/

— A criticism of Moore, the movie and universal health care:
http://blogs.nypost.com/movies/archives/2007/06/kyle_smith_on_m.html#more

This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CE: Health Care

  1. “HEALTH CARE” – Student Opinions from Quiz #4, Question #25

    Comments:

    I support Obama on health care as he
    wants there to be universal health care. After viewing
    Sicko, I think it is important to have universal
    healthcare.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama on the issue of
    universal health care. People say that with universal
    health care the quality goes down but I think that for
    some people low quality health care is better than no
    health care at all.

    Comments:

    I support Obama’s side on the health care
    issue because no matter how hard it is to find a way to
    pay for health care everybody should be entitled to
    health care and I think that McCain saying I would do
    it but if you give me the money, like what the hell of a
    statement is state find a way to get the money and help
    everyone.

    Comments:

    Obama, a country needs almost free
    health care to take care of people, especially poor people

    Comments:

    I also agree on Obama on universal
    health care. The health care system in America puts so
    much stress on so many people, costs companies more
    money as they pay for company health insurance and I
    just do not feel that anyone should be deprived of being
    healthy. For America to be one of the wealthiest
    countries in the world, why are they not putting their
    money back into their country to help people out. I also
    having lived in Scotland where there is universal health
    care I couldn’t imagine life without it and the extreme
    stress both mentally and financially health insurance
    and health problems must put on people. People deserve
    to be helped and healthy.

    Comments:

    I agree with McCain on universal health
    care. I think that if you have the money to have health
    care and pay for a doctor you should have to. Where if
    you do not have enough money to get health care you
    should be able to get free health care.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama’s position on
    universal healthcare. I believe that no matter what your
    status is in life, it is important to have healthcare.
    Your body is incredibly important and it is crucial keep
    it healthy. It would be worth a raise in taxes to be
    sure that everyone would have healthcare.

    Comments:

    I do not agree with either candidate
    on the issue. I think we have a serious problem with our
    health care but at this day and age, it would be nearly
    impossible to create a universal healthcare plan.

    Comments:

    I agree once again with Obama.
    everyone one deserves healthcare its wrong to deny
    people just to make money. I believe universal healthcare
    is the best option.

    Comments:

    I support fully support Obama on this
    issue. I believe health care should be given to everyone
    including those who cannot afford it. Health care and
    the lives of Americans come first, and money comes
    second.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama because he is
    strengthening employee coverage, making insurance
    companies accountable and ensures patient choice of
    doctor and care with government interference

    Comments:

    I support Obama on universal
    health care. I do believe everyone should have health
    care. I don’t believe Obama’s solution to getting heath
    care for everyone is the best solution for our country.
    This topic relates directly to taxes and I don’t think we
    should tax people who are rich just because people that
    are poor need help. I do think Obama’s mind is in the
    right place but I think he needs to work on changing his
    solutions to get there.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama, because I think
    that everyone should receive healthcare.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama on this point as
    well. I like this position because everyone deserves the
    right to health care. If you watched the Sicko movie you
    understand how other countries live and how little they
    have to pay for their health care. With the United
    States being a country wit universal health care, then
    more people will be aided for their sicknesses and less
    people will lose loved ones.

    Comments:

    McCain’s plan because it allows for
    competitions amongst insurance companies versus Obama’s
    plan which sounds like more government and bureaucracy.
    Both plans are complex and I didn’t read them all.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama. Hospitals like All
    Children’s let any child that walks through the door
    have free health care so why can’t every hospital?

    Comments:

    I do not agree with either because
    there is no way that universal health care can work in
    our country but I do believe that everyone under the age
    of 18 should have and once you turn 18 you start to pay
    for like we are doing now.

    Comments:

    McCain because if the U.S. started
    giving out free health care then we would have trouble
    keeping drug addicts out of hospitals trying to get
    their hands on prescription drugs

    Comments:

    I agree with McCain, universal health
    care is not the way to go. The government should not
    control whether or not you get a cast for your broken
    arm. I realize people who just want your money probably
    shouldn’t be in charge either but there are better
    solutions than national health care.

    Comments:

    I agree with McCain because the
    healthcare business has been very profitable. If we
    change it now who knows what effect it will have on our
    economy at this time. Our economy is not stable right
    now and any little thing could set it over the edge.
    People who have healthcare and can pay for it should
    have it and keep it. If you do not have healthcare then
    you should find a way to get it regardless. The
    hospitals will admit you; you are just going to have to
    find a way to pay for it.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama on the universal
    health care plan. I think that it will work out much
    better than the current health care system that US has
    right now. Even though the taxes would rise, the
    universal health care will provide everyone with health
    care that people need and nobody would have to worry
    about anything

    Comments:

    I don’t fully agree with either of the
    candidates on this issue. From the Obama point of view I
    agree that there needs to be a change, and that health
    care should be more readily available to people. However
    I think that they need to find another way to finance it
    other than placing mandatory taxes on the upper income
    level people.

    Comments:

    I agree with Obama on Universal
    Healthcare. I believe that everyone in America should be
    insured for their health, and nobody should be prevented
    from getting health services due to not being fortunate
    enough to afford them. Universal Healthcare will be
    better in the long run for our economy and will be very
    beneficial to us, as the US is one of the wealthiest
    countries in the world, and should easily be able to
    support their people with health care.

    Comments:

    I support Obama, because I think
    everyone should have free health care. I grew up having
    free health care, because I come from Germany and I
    think it is unfair for these people here to not have
    this opportunity to be healthy, because not everyone can
    effort it.

    Comments:

    I agree on Obama for health care policy.
    Everyone has right to get treatment when they are sick.
    I think government should take care of American’s
    health.

Leave a Comment...

